Dunhuang has boasted a railway station since 2006

30 Apr

Dunhuang has boasted a railway station since 2006, but the trip from Beijing or Shanghai is arduous and requires a train change at Lanzhou or Jiayuguan. Plane travel is generally the preferred mode of transport. Welcome to China,  747

The discovery of the hidden ‘sutra cave’ was a tremendous and startling event for both Chinese and foreign scholars around the world. It attracted extreme attention and as a result was quickly plundered by scholars from England, France, America, Russia, and Japan. In 1943 a Dunhuang Arts Academy was established which began to restore the cave and protect and research its remaining contents.

The legend is that in 366 AD, a monk named Le Zun looked across the river at dawn and saw a thousand Buddhas appear on the golden cliff face of Mingsha mountain along the old Silk Road. The caves were then built by monks and mostly sponsored by patrons such as wealthy merchants, foreign dignitaries, as well as Chinese emperors.
For a long period, many of the Mogao Caves were sealed and forgotten. And, few people beyond the locals knew of the existence of the accessible caves.


The Dianchi Lake Scenic Area is a pleasant location

15 Apr

Situated in the southwest district of Kunming, the Dianchi Lake Scenic Area is a pleasant location in which many of the city’s popular attractions such as Daguan Park, Baiyukou Park and Haigeng Bank, are located. The lake itself covers a massive 300 square kilometres and is the largest freshwater lake in the Yunnan province. The lake has over 20 rivers connected to it as well as a shoreline stretching 163.2 kilometres and is an ideal place to take a pleasant walk and escape the urban hustle and bustle. Welcome to China, Chinatourguide.com is pleasure to provide service for your China tours.

Lake Dian, Chinese (Pinyin) Dian Chi or (Wade-Giles romanization) Tien Ch’ih, also called (Pinyin) Kunming Hu or (Wade-Giles romanization) K’un-ming Hu,  lake lying to the south of Kunming in Yunnan province, southern China. Lake Dian is located in Yunnan’s largest grouping of lake basins, in the eastern part of the province and south of the Liangwang Mountains, which reach an elevation of some 8,740 feet (2,664 metres).

Interested tourists can find many scenic spots around Lake Dian, such as Yunnan Ethnic Village, the Yunnan Nationalities Museum, Huating Temple, Taihua Temple, Sanqing Pavilion, Longmen, Bamboo Temple, Grand View Tower, Panlong Temple, Zheng He Park, and so on.
Dianchi Lake is one of China’s key scenic areas. Sailing on the lake, with the boat swaying gently on a vast expanse of liquid silver, proves to be a most enchanting experience.

Emei Shan is a natural "Oxygen Bar" in Sichuan

1 Apr

Emei Shan, also known as Emeishan , Mt. O-mei, Mt. Emei or Emei Mountain, is located 7km southwest of Emeishan City and 37km from Leshan, 200km southwest of Chengdu in Sichuan Province. It is one of China’s Four Holy Buddhist Mountains. It is also a UNESCO World Heritage Site  well-known for its breathtaking scenery, mysterious natural wonders, extensive Buddhist culture, abundant range of species and unique landformand.

Mt. Emei is a natural "Oxygen Bar", where the average Negative Oxygen Ions in one cubic meter reach 0.1 million to 1 million which is 500-1000 times more than that in its city cousins. Scientists have confirmed that adequate negative oxygen ions (10.000 or above in one cubic meter air) in air can motivate the metabolization of the human body to repel exhaustion, improve sleep, and prolong life.

The UNESCO protected Mt. Emei (Emei Shan) in Sichuan Province is one of the 4 sacred Buddhist Mountains in China. Emei Shan became a holy mountain because of a man named Pu Gong who one day witnessed the coming of the Bodhisattva Samantabhadra to the mountain. Pu Gong was then instructed to build the “First Audience Hall” temple at the top. Emei Shan (Mt. Emei) was originally a Taoist retreat and only became a Buddhist Mountain during the 3rd century.

The Hanging Temple is an ancient temple built into a cliff of Hengshan Mountain

18 Mar

The Hanging Temple is an ancient temple built into a cliff (about 50m above ground) at the foot of Hengshan Mountain, 65km from downtown Datong City. It was built in the later Northern Wei Dynasty and has a history of over 1,500 years. Along with Yungang Grottoes, the Hanging Temple is one of the main tourist attractions and historical sites in Datong area.

The temple boasts a fine collection of statues – 80 in all – including statues in bronze, iron, terracotta and stone. The most notable of the monastery’s statues, from an artistic point of view, are those of Sakyamuni, Weituo, and the Fairy in the Three Saints Hall, which are all remarkably voluptuously true-to-life. The most outstanding feature of the Hanging Monastery, however, and something which continues to provide encouragement to those who seek universal, or cross-sectarian, religious understanding and cooperation, is the side-by-side presence of the sculptures of Lao-Tzu, Confucius, and Sakyamuni, the founders of the three main religions of China: Taoism, Confucianism, and Buddhism, respectively.
Monastery of the total Diange 40, using the principles of mechanics and semi-plug flying beam based on the pretext of rock dark-care beam down one, Gallery bar so connected, surprising twists and turns. 80 multi-copper, iron, stone, clay Buddha statue, the temple has a "spectacular" on the rocks under the Temple, is the calligraphy of the Tang Dynasty poet Li Bai. Hanging Monastery of the located of Shanxi hunyuan County, 65 kilometers away from Datong, hanging between the semi-cliff cliff at the the Hengshan Jinlong Gorge west side of Ping Feng, and the national key cultural relics protection units. Founded the Monastery of the late Northern Wei dynasty 1500 years ago, fifteen years of Northern Wei Dynasty (AD 491) dynasties have repairs done to the Monastery of the Northern Wei dynasty, the Taoist Tao altar from Pingcheng, this Datong moved south to this According to Taoism, the ancient craftsmen "do not smell the the crowing Bark for" the requirements of the construction of the Monastery of.

There are totally 13 snow-covered peaks in Jade Dragon Snow Mountain

3 Mar

Jade Dragon Snow Mountain (Yulong Mountain), located 15 km north of Lijiang city with an altitude of 5600 meters (18,400 feet) above sea level, is the highest mountain on the southern bank of the Yangtze River. There are totally 13 snow-covered peaks in this mountain. Storms frequently rage on this mountain and snow-white is the main rhythm of this mountain. Shanzidou Peak, the main peak of the mountain, with an altitude of 5,596 meters above sea level, is especially clad in white snow all the year round.

From another perspective, the mountain also boasts a large quantity of trees, medicinal herbs and various flowers. Every year, at the end of spring and the beginning of autumn, thousands of flowers including the eight famous flowers of Yuannan province are blooming all over. It is a well-known place for flowers, especially the azaleas.  

There are three different cable car routes. One to the lower plateau, one to “Yak Pasture” and near the Ganhaizi Grassland, a cable car, one of the highest in China which will take you to the top of the mountain. After you purchase your cable car ticket, which is not included in the parks admission price, you take a park bus to the appropriate cable car departure point. Note that the departure point for the Yak Pasture takes about 45 minutes to reach. And the truth be told, you’re unlikely to see many Yaks. The highlight is clearly to take the cable car to the peak. As it can be a bit chilly at almost 15,000 feet wear warm clothes. You can rent a warm overcoat at the ticket office complex if you don’t have one with you. Cans of oxygen are also for sale both at the departure and arrival points though most people find them unnecessary. The ride up is smooth and offers stunning views of the surrounding area. Early morning lines are common but often disappear by 11;00AM. Once at the top the weather is ever changing. One moment everything can be obscured by clouds and 3 minutes later you have clear unobstructed views of everything.

Wat Traimit Temple of the Golden Buddha

11 Feb

Wat Traimit Temple of the Golden Buddha is located on the end of Yaowarad Road (Chinatown in Bangkok). Although the temple itself pales in comparison to other temples in Bangkok with its rather modest temple architecture, it is the Golden Buddha inside that attracts hundreds of visitors daily. The Sukhothai Traimit Golden Buddha is the largest Golden Buddha Image in the world. It is a Buddha Image in the mara conquering attitude, the typical artistic style of the days when Sukhothai was the capital of Thailand. It was made of pure gold. The image is unrivalled in beauty, measuring 12 feet 5 inches in diametre and has a height of 15 feet 9 inches from the base to the crown and it weighs approximately 5 tons. Now more than 700 years old, it is a valuable treasure of Thailand and of Buddhism. The Guinness Book of Records conducted an evaluation and recorded the Golden Buddha at Wat Traimit Wittayaram as "the sacred object with the highest intrinsic value" worth £21.1 million (£37.1 million according to the new record in 2003).

In the early 1930s, reconstruction works in the banks of the Chao Phraya river near Chinatown required the destruction of an old abandoned temple that housed a stucco-painted gold statue of Buddha. Despite the fact that the statue was not so attractive, its destruction was not an option. Thus it was decided to move it to Wat Traimit, a pagoda of minor relevance (like hundreds of other Buddhist temples that exist in Bangkok), keeping the statue in Chinatown. The temple didn’t have a building big enough to house the statue, so it was kept for 20 years under a simple tin roof.
In 1955 a new building was built and the monks decided to install the statue inside it. A crane was supposed to move the statue carefully, but a cable broke and the statue fell in the mud, an event that was seen as a bad omen by the workers, who ran away from the place, leaving the statue on the soil. It was the rainy season and, as for confirming the bad omen, a terrible storm came and it lasted the whole night, flooding the whole city.
At the dawn of the next day, the abbot of the temple came to evaluate the damage and started removing the mud. He observed that the wet plaster was cracked and under it was a statue made of solid gold.
It is thought that the statue came from Ayutthaya and it was disguised under plaster to hide it from the Burmese, who were besieging the city. After being moved to Bangkok, its true composition was forgotten for almost 200 years.

The Forbidden City of China is located right in the heart of Beijing

30 Jan

The Forbidden City of China is located right in the heart of Beijing and was home to 24 emperors of the Qing and Ming Dynasties. The grand palace’s construction started during the Yongle Emperor’s 4th year of ruling the Ming Dynasty in 1406, ending 14 years later in 1420.

Although the earliest structures on the Forbidden City site began with Kublai Khan during the Mongol dynasty, the plan of the palace buildings is essentially Ming. Most date to the fifteenth century and the ambitions of the Emperor Yongle, the monarch responsible for switching the capital back to Beijing in 1403. The halls were laid out according to geomantic theories – in accordance to the yin and yang, the balance of negative and positive – and since they stood at the exact centre of Beijing, and Beijing was considered the centre of the universe, the harmony was supreme. The palace complex constantly reiterates such references, alongside personal symbols of imperial power such as the dragon and phoenix (emperor and empress) and the crane and turtle (longevity of reign).

During 1961, the museum was named an important historical monument under the Chinese central government’s special preservation. Then in 1987, the museum declared a World Heritage Site by the UNESCO foundation. The Forbidden City is the country’s best preserved imperial palace and the world’s biggest ancient palatial structure. It covers about 72 hectares of area, having a total of 150,000 square meters of floor space. There are 90 courtyards and palaces, 8,704 rooms, and 980 buildings. The city is surrounded by a moat that is 6 meters deep, and a wall that is 10 meters high with gates on every side.